A Message from the President of the Board of Trustees

Dear Portledge Community,

Our beautiful school sits in an enviable position. We have top-tier academics, top-flight athletic teams, museum-quality arts programs, concert-worthy music programs, a faculty at the top of their game, a stunning campus, and parents and alumni who care about our school and the students we educate.

We have all of this because this community is engaged in Portledge. Our students, faculty, staff, alumni, and parents are all pulling on the same oar…the one that makes Portledge a better place to learn and grow.

It’s an oar we will never stop pulling on. Involvement is what separates Portledge from other schools – involvement is why a sense of community is real and evident and palpable at Portledge. And we need every member of our community involved.

There are so many ways to get involved, from Founder’s Day to the Parents Association, Alumni Association to the Portledge Benefit, the list goes on. These events and organizations are so important to the school and are really fun to be a part of. I implore you to get involved. It will make an enormous difference to Portledge, to you, and most importantly, to your children.

I am humbled and honored to be the Board President at this time in the school’s history. The Commons is open and already an integral part of the campus, now the Board of Trustees has set its sights on implementing the next step of the Campus Master Plan, which will truly be transformative for our campus. Our Director of Development, Tara Askeland, can answer any questions you have about this exciting project.

They say you get out of something what you put into it. If you have been involved in Portledge in the past, thank you, and I know you will agree – you get far more out of a place like Portledge than you put in. And the more you put in, the greater the reward – for you, for the school, and for your kids.

I look forward to seeing you on campus.

Maryellen “Mel” Mooney
President, Board of Trustees
Olivia Mooney ‘21
Quentin Mooney ‘21

Board of Trustees

Maryellen Mooney, President
Lindsey Barnett, Vice President
Donald D. Wilson, Treasurer
Claude A. Bahnik ’90, Secretary

Donna Burke
Susan Foley
Joel Friedman
Peter Guo
Jamal Haughton
Dana Pagliara
David Schamis
Elizabeth Venuti
Lisa Warren

Board of Trustees Feedback