Message from the Head of School, Simon Owen-Williams

On behalf of the Strategic Planning Committee, I am proud to present 20/20: A Clear Vision—a three-year strategic plan that provides the next steps needed to ensure the continued success of our school and our students.

Unanimously approved by the 2017-2018 Board of Trustees, this plan’s value cannot be overstated, as it affirms our commitment to our mission and our keen focus on the future. The goals and strategies set forth within this document are reflective of the feedback and priorities identified by all sectors of our community, and remain true to our founding philosophies. 20/20: A Clear Vision will serve as the foundation of our work and a barometer of our success over the next three years.

Strategic Plan 2020

List of 7 items.

  • Goal 1: The Student Experience

    Better demonstrate and document each student’s yearly growth as a Portledge citizen and scholar.
  • Goal 2: School Culture

    Strengthen our distinct school culture to further enhance the Portledge mission.
  • Goal 3: Faculty Excellence

    Provide the teaching resources, professional development, and compensation needed to attract and retain outstanding faculty and staff who excel at delivering the Portledge Experience.
  • Goal 4: Equity and Social Justice

    Create an inclusive learning environment that engages teachers, students, families, staff, and administrators in a commitment to equity, social justice, and intercultural awareness.
  • Goal 5: Financial Sustainability

    Develop a long-range financial plan that will help the initiatives outlined in the Strategic Plan and Master Plan thrive over the long term.
  • Goal 6: Campus Facilities and Technology

    Advance campus facilities and technological infrastructure to provide an efficient and safe learning environment that supports the Portledge School mission.
  • Strategic Planning Committee

    Nancy Aranda(Faculty Member)
    Tara Askeland(Director of Development)
    Claude Bahnik ‘90(Current Board Member)
    Lindsey Barnett(Current Board Member)
    Shane Cappuccio  (Faculty Member)
    Michael Coope (Director of Admissions) 
    Karen Crowley (Assistant Head of School) 
    Jason Dula (Faculty Member) 
    Leigh Farrell(Director of Early Childhood)
    Rick Fleck  (Chief Financial Officer)
    Olga Florentino(Faculty Member)
    Shana Goldstein (Faculty Member) 
    Emily Lavelle ‘00(Alumna) 
    Saralyn Lawn
    (Director of Lower School)
    Victoria Levy(Director of Communications)
    Samara Meshel
    (Current Board President)
    Dan Naftalis
    (Faculty Member)
    Simon Owen-Williams 
    (Head of School)
    Dana Pagliara 
    (Current Board Vice President)
    Stephen Palacios 
    (Former Board President)
    Jonathan Sandos ‘03 
    (Director of Athletics)
    Janice Taubman 
    (Faculty Member)
    Donald Wilson
    (Current Board Member) 
    Luisa Wu (Faculty Member)
    Valerie Yardeni(Current Board Member)

Strategic Plan

We Want To Hear From You

You are a part of the plan! Your support of the Strategic Plan is crucial to its success. We welcome any questions or feedback you may have.