Welcome to the Portledge School Athletic Hall of Fame!

The purpose of the Hall of Fame is twofold. First, the Athletic Department would like to honor the careers and accomplishment of select extraordinary student-athletes in a public and special way to both recognize their exceptional accomplishments and to inspire our current student-athletes to strive for greatness. Second, Portledge is actively and thoughtfully working to strengthen the ties between alumni and the School. The Hall of Fame aims to accomplish both of these priorities in a celebratory way.

Beginning in November 2018, all Portledge School alumni were able to nominate others who they believed were worthy of being enshrined in the Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2019. Eligible alumni are those whose class year is a multiple of five from that year’s graduating class. Therefore, the alumni eligible for nomination in 2019 were student-athletes who graduated from Portledge in 1979, 1984, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009, and 2014. Each year, this tradition will continue in a similar fashion with the Hall of Fame committee making recommendations on which nominees should be inducted into The Hall. The final decision regarding induction will be made by the Portledge Administration. 
The announcement of the honorees will be made each June at the annual Upper School Athletic Awards Ceremony and posted simultaneously online. The official induction ceremony will take place each September on Founders Day in conjunction with the Alumni Fall Reunion. We are hopeful that you, your friends, and fellow alums will return to campus for the day’s festivities each and every year.

We are proud to announce the 2019 Portledge Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees:
  • Nils Youngwall, Class of 1984
  • Chris Masotto, Class of 1994
  • Willa Sky-Bacon Freer, Class of 1999
  • Tamara Simpson, Class of 2014

Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Michael O'Donoghue, Portledge Interim Director of Athletics
Curt Sawyer, Fmr Portledge Director of Athletics 1981-2003
Phil Hills, Fmr Portledge Director of Athletics 2003-2006 & Current Teacher & Coach 
Terri Austin Keogh '85
Seth Gottesman '86
Justin Ort '90

Nomination Form

Nominations being taken for 1980, 1985, 1990, 1995, 2000, 2005, 2010, and 2015.
All alumni are welcome to submit nominations! 
Click here for the Nomination Form.
This form is an editable pdf file. Download the file, fill in the form, save it and email it back.

Nominations are being taken from
November 25, 2019 - March 1, 2020.

Hall of Fame Dinner 2019